Review: Fantastic Food at Cross Keys York & £50 Voucher Giveaway

The awesome team at the Cross Keys York recently invited myself and a friend along to review their new menu and the pub itself, as they have recently had a new refurbishment. I’d actually gone past The Cross Keys almost weekly but I’d never really considered going inside and checking it out. Not only was I there to review the menu though with my £50 budget I’d been given, I was also asked to do an Instagram story takeover on the Nicholsons account – which was pretty cool.

Cross-Keys-Gin

Cross-Keys-York-Pub

I’d picked a Wednesday evening to go along to the Cross Keys York with my lovely friend, Becca. Becca has accompanied me to a few food related reviews for my blog, so she knows not to eat anything until I’ve taken all the photos I need. The pub was fairly busy and we were welcomed with smiles from the wonderful staff at The Cross Keys.

Cross-Keys-York-Bar

Cross-Keys-Inside

The pub has a lovely, relaxing feel to it – with a tasty looking menu, which has a good variety of choice. To begin, we each decided to order a different gin from the drinks menu. Mine was the Silent Pool Gin with tonic water, “Rich, clean juniper-led spirit with floral layers of lavender and chamomile. Best paired with Fever-Tree Indian Tonic, garnished with lime.” I adored the notes of lavender, this gin was really refreshing to drink and is definitely a new favourite of mine. Becca chose the MONKEY 47 GIN, paired with ginger ale, “47 botanicals make for an unrivalled complexity. Crisp with a sweet floral aroma. Best paired with Fever-Tree Indian Tonic, garnished with orange.”

LouiseRoseRailton-InstagramTakeover

Cross-Keys-Starter-Sharer

For the purpose of review (of course hehe), we decided to have a sharer platter as our starter. This beauty is the Nicholson’s Sharer (£13.50), “Home-made Scotch egg, chilli chicken skewers, ale-glazed Gloucester Old Spot sausages, Davidstow rarebit fondue, golden beetroot piccalilli, artisan sourdough bread and potato crisps.” which all tasted and looked incredible, as you can see in my photograph above.

Cross-Keys-Food-Pie

Cross-Keys-Food-Fishcakes

As our mains, Becca chose the Chicken, Chorizo and Cider Pie which was mouth-wateringly tasty and Becca let me try a bit, bless her. I’m a bit obsessed with fishcakes and have been for years, so I had the Smoked Salmon Fishcakes – served with preserved lemon aioli and triple-cooked chips.

Cross-Keys-York-Minster-Info

Cross-Keys-York-Outside

The Instagram story takeover was so fun, I loved it! Obviously, as you can see from my glowing review of the Cross Keys York, I would highly recommend popping in for a visit/drink or for a delicious meal. You can view their full menu, or find out more details over on the Nicholson’s Pubs website. Their brilliant team have kindly offered me a £50 gift card to giveaway to one of my readers. All you need to do to enter this excellent competition is fill in the Rafflecorpter form below.

Good luck all!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclaimer: I was invited to review the menu (with £50 to spend on food and drink) at the Cross Keys, York, by Nicholson's Pubs. I have also been gifted the £50 voucher to giveaway. All opinions, thoughts and photographs are genuinely my own.
Follow:

23 Comments

  1. ally gilpin
    16th May 2017 / 10:00 pm

    Entered 😄😄

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:26 am

      Thank you for entering Ally 🙂

  2. Jean Cassell
    17th May 2017 / 4:19 pm

    York is a beautiful city and this would be a great prize to win for a wonderful day out

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:26 am

      Good luck Jean!

  3. Rebecca Foster
    17th May 2017 / 4:19 pm

    I’d go one weekend and treat my Mum for lunch. For me the open sandwich, made with smoked salmon, lemon aioli and dressed rocket… all on toasted sourdough bread! Mum would choose for herself but would be spoilt for choice as the menu looks very inviting. All enjoyed in the beer garden with a beautiful Minster view.

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:27 am

      A wonderful idea Rebecca, good luck!

  4. Lynn Rose
    17th May 2017 / 4:59 pm

    🙂 Love spending days in York, the food, people watching and shopping!

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:28 am

      York is excellent for people watching. Thanks for entering the competition Lynn and good luck!

  5. Lynda Jones
    17th May 2017 / 6:08 pm

    My son has just moved to York as he is a student at York University, I would love to visit him for the day and treat him to a really nice meal, and this place looks fantastic. I would probably choose the sharing platter as we love to pick at food with a glass or two of wine whilst we catch up on all the news

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:32 am

      Hi Lynda, the sharing platter is great. York is lovely to explore, you will love it if you go to visit your son. Fingers crossed and good luck!

  6. Charlotte Henson
    17th May 2017 / 6:12 pm

    I visited here a couple of weeks back and thought it looked great now it’s had a refurb. Didn’t get chance to try the food. I would like to though at some point

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:29 am

      Hi Charlotte, thank you for your comment! It’s so lovely, especially now it’s had the refurb. If you ever get a chance to try the food, please do. It’s so good! Good luck

  7. Linda Tweed
    17th May 2017 / 8:43 pm

    This food looks absolutely divine! We (me, my husband and daughter) love going to York for day trips, and winning a treat like this would really make it special for us. Fingers crossed x

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:31 am

      York is lovely isn’t it! Fingers crossed for you Linda

  8. Susan Hoggett
    17th May 2017 / 9:39 pm

    I love York and have visited the Cross Keys before, the gins are amazing, can’t wait to go back!

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:30 am

      The gins are so amazing aren’t they Susan! Good luck x

  9. Helen Broddle
    19th May 2017 / 7:26 am

    WOW this would be a fabulous treat, I love York and the food at the Cross Keys looks fantastic!

    • 19th May 2017 / 11:30 am

      Good luck Helen 🙂

  10. Rich Tyler
    19th May 2017 / 10:22 pm

    York is an amazing city, I’d love to treat my special ones to a treat 🙂

  11. Karen R
    20th May 2017 / 8:34 am

    This would be perfect because my hubby and are are planning to go to York for our 21st wedding anniversary in June. I like steak or scampi usually when I eat out 🙂

  12. Jennifer Ball
    20th May 2017 / 2:34 pm

    I was a student in York and thought I don’t live too far now I don’t get to visit as often as I’d like so any excuse a welcome! Would love to try the sea bass

  13. Helen Thorsby
    20th May 2017 / 4:05 pm

    Absolutely ❤️ York, looks a lovely place, I would treat my partner and have the Hunters chicken followed by sticky toffee pudding!! Yummy x

  14. Emma Davison
    20th May 2017 / 6:10 pm

    I have never been. The food in your review sounds nice though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *